Three Sisters, Blue Mountains

Last Monday a few close friends and I decided to go on an adventure to the Blue Mountains. The first idea we had was to go on the Valley Of The Waters walk. After doing some research on this walk we decided it was best for us to choose some other place to go, because we are all inexperienced bush walkers and this particular walk was 3-4 hours long.

So we all agreed on seeing the famous Three Sisters. We caught a train from Sydney Central station to Katoomba, it was a very long train ride but at the end of it, it was all worth it. The train was packed with people, and there was this old couple who were standing next to me, I offered them my seat, the lady sat on the available seat next to me, but the gentleman refused to accept my seat. He said that he was used to standing for a long period of time. Throughout the journey I got to get to know this couple a bit better. They told me they go for bush walks twice a week together, which I thought was pretty awesome for someone their age (70 ish). I want to get to that stage in life and have the same vitality that they have. They were nothing but nice to me and they did really inspire me to keep doing what I am doing, and follow my dreams.

Failed attempt to photograph the couple!

Failed attempt to photograph the couple!

After arriving in Katoomba, we were meant to catch a bus to the Three Sisters, but we could not figure out where to catch said bus. So we walked from the station to Echo point, it was a 30 min walk, 2 kilometers long. It wasn’t so bad. We got to see Australian Wildlife on the way and beautiful traditional houses.

The Echo Point was quite crowded by the time we got there (around 11 am), mostly because it was Easter Monday. Everyone was trying to get a photo with the Three Sisters on the background. For me seeing the scenery was amazing. I had never seen so many mountains, and trees combined in one place. Only in photos haha. We spent about half an hour looking at the amazing view, but we got bored afterwards and we hadn’t planned a bush walk. I saw a few people going down some stairs leading to a walk, so I thought if those people were going there, it meant there was probably something to be seen. And I wasn’t wrong. We took the walk, which was about 45 minutes long, return. Throughout the walk, which I don’t know the name of (sorry), we had a broader view of the mountains. At the end of this walk we found a waterfall!! We sat there for a while, as we were all tired haha. Then we returned to the Echo Point and walked back to the Katoomba train station.

The famous Three Sisters

The famous Three Sisters


Walking in the track

Walking in the track


IMG_5687IMG_5680IMG_5671IMG_5681
The amazing view!

The amazing view!

IMG_5686
Overall, the day was a lot of fun, it is better to go with friends so you have someone to share the experience with. The Blue Mountains are enormous and you do need a lot of time to see all that there is to see.

Leave a Reply

